Dakota Forumz banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Everyone!

I am new to Dodge Dakotas, I just picked one up a few months ago. Its a 3rd Gen 2007 ST, RWD, Club Cab, V6 with 6-Speed Getrag.

SO, I might be crazy but I am just toying with ideas right now, but information on these is hard to find. I am thinking of doing a RWD to 4x4 Conversion on mine. I know it will be easier and probably more cost effective to just trade in and buy the 4x4... BUT... mine is really clean and it has the Manual transmission in it which is hard to find in a 4x4 without being rusted to high heaven. If it is clean, I have to get it to WI or pay more than double the price (I shopped for MONTHS for mine). Also, I didn't expect it but I already have a huge sentimental attachment to this truck, its great! :D

On the 1st and 2nd Gen, I know the frames and front ends are different between 4x4 and RWD, but on the third gen I keep finding snippets saying "new common front end" that share many 4x4 and RWD components... is this true? Does anyone know how common the front ends are?? It sounds like it could possibly be an "easy" swap without tons of custom metal work. I know there will need to be some.

I know the rear of the trans needs to be changed for transfer case but I am not afraid of that...many options. I would probably go with a manual T-Case from a Jeep here. My main question is about the front end and drive line.

My end goal in mind is a cool, V8 4x4 Manual Dakota that isn't rusted to hell!

Thanks!
Jon

·
Registered
545 Posts