Dakota Forumz banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First time posting. I have an 89 Dakota 3.9 l. 6 cylinder. I have a no start situation. I have replaced starter relay, asd relay, fuel pump relay, cap, rotor, ignition module, plugs and wires. At first it was cranking when I was jumping the starter relay, I got new relay and put it in now no crank. I tried jumping it again and still no crank. I also have changed the ignition lock cylinder. I have lights n the dash when key is on and check engine light does not stay illuminated. The only codes it throws is battery disconnected since last start. If I arc the cellinoid it will crank. I am new to mechanics, but have learned a lot so far and basically know my way around this motor. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated. Oh I do have a Haynes manual but it is not very specific to my Dakota it seems. I have read many threads in this forum but I am unable to figure this out..my biggest question is why all of a sudden no crank after installing the new relays. Thank you.

·
Registered
2003 RT (5.9)
757 Posts
The '89 is way earlier than I have experience with, but there must be a fuse(s?) in the starter circuit. Your Haynes should have schematics in the back of it, so maybe find one for the starting system & work backwards from the solenoid (as you have verified that the starter, itself, is operational) and see if you are missing a fuse or circuit breaker or fusible link or something.

·
Registered
2003 RT (5.9)
757 Posts
. . . anyway, as I typed, I don't know anything about this vintage of Dak, but I just quickly buzzed through Rockauto's list of parts under electrical for it, and a neutral safety switch would give you a no-crank condition that would be bypassed by going hot to the solenoid.