Dakota Forumz banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello everyone i have a 2008 dodge dakota 4.7 with 115k on it. always maintained well. wondering what routes i should be looking at for safe power and still be able to daily as i can now. i have a flow master and a k&n filter replacement and that’s it. i was looking to get superchips f5 flash pack and using 87 tune to keep it healthy and “wake” it up. and also put bigger black wheels on it with a leveling kit. please help i know that’s a lot but i’m super lost trying to find info/advice. thanks!!

·
Registered
49 Posts
If your tires are larger diameter than before, you have lost at-the-wheel torque in the process. Consider changing the differential gears to a numerically higher ratio to either get back or increase your torque. I'm no expert on hotrodding a 4.7, but I do know basic physics.

·
Registered
103 Posts
I bought one of these performance chips for my 02 Dakota, I haven't used it yet since my truck is all torn apart right now, but another member on these forums is happy with it on his 03 I know. It fits 1996-2012 models. If you do buy it, at least when I got mine I used the "Make Offer" system and figured out the seller has it preset to automatically accept $45 and up, so offer that and you'll save 12 bucks. Fits 1996-2012 Dodge Dakota - Performance Tuner Chip Power Tuning Programmer | eBay

·
Registered
2011 Ram Dakota Laramie (QC, 4.7L V8)
38 Posts
I guess it mostly depends on what you want it to do outside of being a daily driver. Offroad, towing, hauling, etc?

For power, most seem to have gotten the most impact from a tuner, like Superpaqs or Bullydog. For torque, the best seems to be going up in the numeric ratio for the rear diff. 4.10 seems to be the most common, though a few have a gone higher (4.25, I think...can't find the threads right now).