Dakota Forumz banner

Automatic Transmission / Starting Problem

1K views 8 replies 3 participants last post by  immattj 
#1 ·
Okay, I'm a newbie on this truck, my 1998 Dakota SLT (and not one of your hot-shot mechanical types, either). Here's my, occasionally the truck will not start. I get lights but she doesn't crank. (BTW, her name is Nellie Belle). I wiggle the shifter and she will start. If that doesn't work and I can get her into Neutral, she starts. So, I'm thinking there is a problem with the interconnect between the ignition and the transmission. Am I correct in believing there is a part that will degrade to the point where this happens and that the part is less than $50? Can this be fixed by a relatively newbie? If so, what is the part (or parts) I need and where can I get a step-by-step guide on doing the repair?

#2 ·
Rich, I have not had this issue for literally decades. Meaning never on my Dak. However, I am thinking that this sounds a lot like a neutral-switch that may be failing. Hopefully you will get some additional input that will be applicable to your Dak.

(I will add, on edit, that it is possible that wiggling the the shift lever or going into neutral & getting Nellie to crank is only coincidental & it could be your starter solenoid. However, from what you provided, I am thinking your neutral switch.)

#3 ·
Actually, I couldn't remember the term "neutral-switch." The tow guy said he thought that was the problem since he'd seen it before. I'll find out tomorrow morning since she's going into the bay to have the problem checked. If that's all it is I'm assuming it won't take long or be very costly. (At least that's what the tow guy said.)

Question: how many miles on your DAK? Mine has 243K on her.

#4 · (Edited)
I am not sure what your engine & transmission are, but here is one from Rock for a '98 with a 3.9
(as an example).