Dakota Forumz banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi, i'm not really new, but i need a quick response to my problem. i own a 1987 dodge dakota 2.2L 4 cyl engine, with a 6520 Holley carburetor. i just cleaned the carburetor and did a rebuild. i tried starting my truck last night, (something to know is that when i put the key into the ignition and turn it on, the fuel pump turns on because i have an electrical fuel pump, not mechanical.) and it starts up, and i see a lot of smoke, (partly happening because i was spacing it and forgot to stop cranking the engine for a couple of seconds) and turned it off. i walk over and see the non-choke barrel of the carb filled halfway with gasoline. this still happens when i only turn the key to the on position without cranking it. the return line is not the problem, it shouldn't be the seals, and the float is balanced.

i have gotten a reccomendation from my teacher as i am still a high school student and he told me to get a pressure regulator for the fuel lines. i would like some other opinions and so i was wondering what could be causing this and how i could fix it.

·
Registered
830 Posts
hi, i'm not really new, but i need a quick response to my problem. i own a 1987 dodge dakota 2.2L 4 cyl engine, with a 6520 Holley carburetor. i just cleaned the carburetor and did a rebuild.
6520 is 2bbl carb. Did you take the carb apart and pull off the float and
needle?

i tried starting my truck last night, (something to know is that when i put the key into the ignition and turn it on, the fuel pump turns on because i have an electrical fuel pump, not mechanical.) and it starts up, and i see a lot of smoke, (partly happening because i was spacing it and forgot to stop cranking the engine for a couple of seconds) and turned it off.
Lots of smoke because it's flooding the intake manifold and the cylinders.
in a super rich fuel mixture.