Dakota Forumz banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So about two weeks ago my radiator started to leak so I put radiator stop leak in and changed the thermostat. A week later my radiator exploded. So I replace the radiator and I replaced the temperature coolant sensor and flushed out the old fluid and put new coolant in. However my temperature gauge goes up fast and is very close to the hot mark. Whats making it over heat and what can I do to make the temperature normal again so i don't end up blowing another radiator? if you can help i would really appreciate it

·
Registered
1,211 Posts
ive heard of a lot of heating core issues with the earlier models, but i'm not sure if that would affect engine temps

·
Registered
1,567 Posts
I'm not an expert, but I would check to see if your heater core is stopped up. That would affect the flow of coolant.

You might also have air in your cooling system. I'm not sure if that is a problem for your model, but lots of folks with newer Chargers have that issue and it exhibits symptoms similar to what you describe.

I hope this helps.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Ive replaced the thermostat twice thinking the first one was defective but it still reads hotter then it should.

·
Registered
115 Posts
96 had the rad cap not the cap on the line correct?
if so try and burp the system by leaving the cap off and starting the truck and that should alow the air, if any, to circulate into the radiator then top off as needed...
heater core should only effect the flow through it and thats it. it shouldnt effect anything else if its cloged then it wont put heat into the cab or wont allow much heat sence theres no hot coolant flowing through it...