Dakota Forumz banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a little new to Dodge, trying to learn as much as I can as quick as I can. I'm 70 years
old and have never owned a automatic tranny ride. I use our Dakota 3.9 V6 to pull a 2000
trailer up and down I 95 at 70 plus MPH. I have already figured out 5 th gear won't do the job.
Fourth does fine and it knocks MPG back down to around town figures. While the gear
spacing is a little wide it's a fine tranny. I'd like to figure which tranny I have and what the
difference is. Steve

·
Registered
1,199 Posts
It will depend on the year; but yes, you might want to look at swapping to a V8 for the increased torque.

Otherwise, you're just about right - stay out of OD, and while you're at it, keep under 70MPH with that trailer. Unless you want to discover what "tail wags the dog" means ...

RwP

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you Ralph, I realize V8 swap seems the answer to every question. I think I have a 3500
tranny. We agree the V6 won't pull 5 th and the trailer.

Little story, I built my single axle trailer in 3 days for $125. in materials in 1974. Designed and built to trailer
classic mini race cars. I had a race at Watkins Glenn and my friend decided not to lend me his trailer.
Great care was taken to balance the trailer with 60 lbs tongue. I know it sounds bad but we have
trailered at 100 mph with this trailer. No I don't do it any longer but I have a great trailer. Been to Denver,
Huston, Mid Ohio, the Glenn and all the south east tracks. I now deliver and pick up Classic Minis for
restoration. Steve

·
Registered
545 Posts