Dakota Forumz banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
SO I am a newbie to this site. I bought my 97 dodge dakota regular cab less than a year ago and I am currently in the process of giving it a face-lift. I have the 318 and a five speed to boot, the truck has a 3.92(i think--i am new to mopar). I used to always drive GM but don't like what they are doing there anymore and needed something to pull my pop up. My last ride was a bagged S-10 although I am not going that way with this truck. No lowering at all will be done here. My truck had no clear coat when I got it and I am currently getting it ready to re-shoot this summer while I am out of college amongst other things. I have grown to really like this truck except for the mileage. So I have a couple of questions that I'm sure you guys will be like you need to move that to another forum but I'll see what bites I get here first. First question- I am upgrading many parts of my 318 to give me better midrange power, with the way my truck is geared and the tranny combo I get poor interstate mileage as well as crappy power in 5th gear(mainly in tow). I have put headers, exhaust, and a cold air intake kit and have a 50mm TB, Firepower ignition kit, and an electric flex-a-lite fan on the way. My question is this: I have bought ford 19 lb. 4 hole pintle injectors to upgrade my current ones. Will my stock fuel pump be able to keep up with those injectors or will it need to be changed. Question 2: Has anyone successfully tried to swap out a 5-speed in a 2nd gen dakota for a 6-speed out of a gen 3? I have some cash but am not rich and just wonder if this is realistic? I need another gear on the interstate to keep my revs down to add mileage and was thinking since they are still magnum v-8's in those dakota's how hard(if at all) it would be to swap them out. A rear end gear change wouldn't help because of what I use it for, plus I do like to drive it fast when not in tow just because it's fun. M