Dakota Forumz banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. I really need some help here. I will give some background about myself and my problem. Please aid me in my search to find and fix my issue. I was a mechanic for 12 years before an accident last year broke my cervical and lumbar spine. So I understand our language. Now It’s all I can do just to get out of bed some days.

I have a 1993 Dakota 3.9 4x4 with 168,000 miles. I bought the truck a few years ago and since then I have rebuilt the engine, transmission, air conditioner, and all regular maintenance such as brakes, shocks etcetera.

Here is my problem. (After the plates were put in my neck) The steering became very lose or sloppy. I opted to replace the drag link system to correct this myself. During the repair I found the upper ball joints had apx ¼ inch of play in them. I could not do this myself so I had a shop in town replace the uppers, lowers, A arm bushings, and axles. I picked up my truck and on the way home I noticed my steering was very touchy. But here is the problem. The steering wheel was straight until I hit a bump then it turned a little more than an 1/8 to the right(this is more play than before the repair) but the truck continued straight as an arrow then another bump and it went back straight. I knew something was wrong. On my way back to the shop I noticed when going around a curve to the left it feels like the wheels flop to one side like one of the ball joints is about to fail and the tire is going to lay to the side. Also at any speed during a turn if you let go of the steering wheel it stays where it is (Like a BMW) I mean it does not center itself while rolling.

I have been back to the shop 6 times and had the ball joints replaced just in case they were the problem. I also took it to two other shops trying to locate the issue. No one can find it. It does not feel safe to drive.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·