Dakota Forumz banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi
I am a 3rd owner on a 2.5L Dakota which has a 2" lift improperly done, with an electrical wiring nightmare, exhaust gasket leak and ball joints that are square joints. I am determined to see if I can save this truck with the little cash I have.
My major issue at the moment is the flashing headlight ECU problem. I have read that there is a resistor that could be the cause. I am soldering certified and have ESD equipment. My question is can I open the ECU and remove the PCB without special tools?

·
Registered
830 Posts
Hi
I am a 3rd owner on a 2.5L Dakota
My major issue at the moment is the flashing headlight ECU problem. I have read that there is a resistor that could be the cause. I am soldering certified and have ESD equipment. My question is can I open the ECU and remove the PCB without special tools?
I wouldn't mess with the ECU (PCM) on your 98 without knowing how the
lights are connected. BTW..You didn't mention if the tranny is manual shift or automatic. If it's automatic, then probably it has a shift solenoid pack in it and controlled by what we call the PCM.

While the PCM can be taken apart, without a circuit board layout and
schematic drawing, you are just asking for trouble doing it, as
the 3 connectors that connect with it have NO HEADLAMP CIRCUIT
connecting pins to the ECU/PCM.

Besides, what makes you think it's the ECU controlling your headlights?

Generally the headlights are controlled by a headlamp switrch and a relay in the PDC

SYMPTOM: HEADLAMPS FLASH RANDOMLY
1. Poor lighting circuit ground. (Test for voltage drop across ground
locations.)
2. High resistance in headlamp circuit. ( Test amperage draw of headlamp circuit.) Should not exceed 30 amps.
3. Faulty headlamps switch circuit breaker.
Replace headlamp switch.
(Usually this is the most common cause.)
4. Loose or corroded terminals or splices in circuit.
( Inspect and repair all connectors and splices)