Dakota Forumz banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I have a 96 Dakota, 4 cylinder, with an intermittent starting issue. It can be running great when hot, I shut it off, and then try to restart - it will not have any spark. When it fails there is NO spark from the coil , when it cools down (20 min wait time) the spark returns and engine starts. Any thoughts on what to check/replace?

The problem occurred once - two yrs later it appeared again, then last week, now it is everytime it gets to normal temp and I shut it down. I haven't done anything in either diagnostics or replacements yet. No codes from the ODB, no Check Engine light, etc.

I've been a shade tree mechanic since '59 and have plenty of experience in subtle troublesome intermittent problems, however this one has me stumped. Any help would be appreciated.

Frank

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
OK OK OK, I started the shotgun approach to troubleshooting/fixing the problem; I 1st checked the dist cap, rotor and plugs & wires; no carbon tracks, no cracks, no noticeable wear, the wires are still pliable, not brittle, nor any cracks in the insulation, so I unplugged/replugged all the connectors and the replaced the coil - still fails, although the symptoms are altered; it restarts several times now when hot, before failing to start for the 20 min cooldown delay time.

Also there is a noticeable predetonation (soft backfire) occasionally while cranking prior to starting. When in the non-starting mode, the backfire occurs occasionally, ie, hiccups the smooth pattern of the starter running, but doesn't start the engine. I guess the next step is to replace the wires, dist cap and rotor, even though they don't appear to be the culprit. Then on to the Ignition module or if anyone has stumbled upon this problem before, please reply and save me the time/$s-Thanks

·
Registered
1,211 Posts