Dakota Forumz banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all! Brand new to this forum and looking for some advice. I just purchased a 2003 Dakota Quad cab 4wd for a VERY reasonable price. I was very happy for the first 100km, then found out why I got it so cheap. The engine intermittantly will die out, usually after turning a corner, although not always. The engine continues to run, but when I put my foot into it to accelerate, it just bogs and slows down. I found that if I put my foot all the way to the floor, it will take off again, but then does it again next time I lay off the gas. Sometimes I can go for a long drive and it will run fine, other times this happens several times on a short trip. I'm new to fuel injection, but am thinking maybe TPS?? Anybody had a similar fault? Any advice I can get would be great. Thanks for reading!!:confused:

·
Registered
1 Posts
i have the same problem

hey,
i have the the same problem as u but my truck is a 1997, between the two truck they have the same engine in them.
I'ved tryed replaceing the TPS and it got a bit better but still continues to do the same thing, but now it bringing up a DTC, P0123 TPS Circuit high
i have a threary that it could be the idle air control is not workong right when cold it stalls out, when the engine is hot it run fine, so im guessing the idle air control valve needs to be replaced
i hope it helps u on fixing ur truck :cool:

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the info bud. My truck seems to be ok when it's cold, the only times it's died out is when the engine is warm. If the new TPS helped yours out, maybe I'll try that first, since the sensor is only about $50, and super easy to replace. The problem still hasn't generated any codes yet, if it does I'll be sure to post here. Let me know if changing your idle air control valve fixes it. Anyone else have this problem and find the cure?

·
Registered
1,211 Posts