Dakota Forumz banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello from Texas! I have a 1989 Dakota sport v6 3.9 liter and am looking to replace my exhaust system, but cannot find a system that I am sure would work. I’m relatively new to Dakotas and trucks in general because I just turned 16 a while ago. I am looking to do the least amount of welding and custom modifications that I need, not because I am lazy, but because I do not have many resources. Thank you for any recommendations or help!

·
Registered
1,496 Posts
Not hard to find - 1989 DODGE DAKOTA 3.9L 239cid V6 Exhaust System Kit | RockAuto

You will need to know if you have the 112" or 124" wheelbase (hint: 6.5' bed went on 112", 8' bed on 124") to order the right one.

You can also get cat-back parts from a lot of places. You can ALSO get the cat from a lot of places.

What you CAN'T get anymore is the Y pipe - in 2018, I bought the last MagnaFlow Y pipe in North America (seriously! They had to ship it from Canada!)

But if yours isn't totally shot, you can get a new Y-pipe made.

Don't forget to replace the O2 sensor while you're doing the rest of the exhaust.

All you'll really need to swap that is a pipe cutter to remove the old exhaust (what's left of it) like this one - DEF Chain Style Tailpipe and Exhaust Piepe Cutter Cut-Off Tool - - Amazon.com . Note: A lot of auto parts stores will sell you one on the "Rent-A-Tool" where you get the money back when you return it; both 1/2" and 9/16" (or 7/16", I forget!) deep throat sockets to fit the clamps; a healthy sized ratchet to torque them down adequately; and I'd add some "Exhaust System Sealant" ( Yale MC16 Muffler Cement 16oz (Pack of 2): Amazon.com: Industrial & Scientific is an example) to go into the seams after you've got everything lined up. DO get the hangers if they're not included.