Dakota Forumz banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'd like to start with an introduction of myself, my name is Justin I've been a diesel mechanic for about 10 years now highly skilled in metal fabrication and custom metal work. So I purchased my 2001 dodge Dakota sport quad cab not to long ago my goals for the truck is a 4bt swap and a solid axel conversion my questions that I'm looking to get answered from all of you that have done a solid axel swap is what axels are you running on front and rear? What gear ratio should I be looking at for 35" tires the truck is used to get me to work and play up on the mountain I work about a mile from my house so it rarely goes on long trips but after looking around the forums and on the great internet I have come to the conclusion that the isn't much for suspension lifts for my year do to the weak bearings and cv axels and the rack and pinion steering I want to get a good amount of travel out of the suspension and the ground clearance from the 35" tires all while being able to fit a 4bt Cummings in the dog house I have a body lift for it but I'm wanting travel my other questions are what steering box have you used after converting and if there was anything you would have done different or some good advise I'm looking at doing a coil over system with the solid axel thank you in advance for the help and advise and sorry for the lengthy post also if you know of any good pictures or videos I'd love to see them

·
Registered
412 Posts
So I purchased my 2001 dodge Dakota sport quad cab not to long ago my goals for the truck is a 4bt swap and a solid axel conversion my questions that I'm looking to get answered from all of you that have done a solid axel swap is what axels are you running on front and rear?